Almost 70 per cent of Queensland is now officially in drought, with eight new declarations this week.

The newly drought-declared shires and councils, all of them in the southeast corner, have been added to the state's list of drought-stricken communities, extending financial support for struggling farmers.

The latest local government areas on the list are Noosa, the Gold and Sunshine coasts, Redlands, Logan, Gympie, Sunshine Coast, and the Fraser Coast.

A total of 67.4 per cent of the state is now officially in drought, with 41 councils fully drought declared, and another four partially declared.

The declaration means primary producers who derive half their income from the land in those areas are now be eligible for financial support, including freight and water subsidies.

“These are difficult times and as a government, we're standing shoulder to shoulder with our farmers and supporting them,” Queensland Agriculture Minister Mark Furner said.

The government has also brought in three additional drought assessment officers to cope with the expected influx of requests for support.

Federal Agriculture Minister David Littleproud wants states to do more drought assistance, such as paying farmers' council rates and exempting them from state taxes and crown lease arrangements.