The Victorian Government has announced the reappointment of the Chairperson and members to the Victorian Catchment Management Council (VCMC).


State Minister for the Environment and Climate Change, Ryan Smith, and Minister for Water Peter Walsh announced the appointment of Michael Murphy as the VCMC’s Chairperson.


“We look forward to working with Mr Murphy and the other VCMC members as they provide advice to contribute to the government’s vision of healthy landscapes and waterways from catchment to coast, creating a prosperous environment for social and economic wellbeing,” MR Smith said.


Minister for Water Peter Walsh said the new VCMC has been appointed after an expression of interest process that included an interview panel with an independent chair.

“I’d like to welcome to the VCMC, Merna Curnow, Dr Peter Greig, Craig Madden and Peta Maddy. I’d also like to congratulate Christopher Arnott, Cullen Gunn and John Young on their reappointments,” Mr Walsh said.

The VCMC Chairperson and members are appointed for a three-year term.


Mr Michael Murphy OAM reappointed

Council Members

Mr Christopher Arnott – reappointed
Mrs Merna Curnow – appointed
Mr Adam Fennessy – reappointed
Dr Peter Greig – appointed
Mr Cullen Gunn – reappointed
Mr Craig Madden – appointed
Ms Peta Maddy – appointed
Mr John Young - reappointed